Awarded an ERC

News item                                                                                                                    May 2016

Ian Sims, Professor of Physics at the University of Rennes 1 and researcher in the Molecular Physics Department of the Institute of Physics Rennes (IPR, CNRS-UR1 Joint Research Unit 6251) has been awarded a European Research Council (ERC) Advanced Grant to commence later this year. These highly competitive grants are, according to the ERC’s website (https://erc.europa.eu/funding-and-grants/fundIAN SIMS crédits photo IPR 031ing-schemes/advanced-grants) “…designed to allow outstanding research leaders of any nationality and any age to pursue ground-breaking, high-risk projects in Europe. The scheme targets researchers who have already established themselves as top independent research leaders.” This is the second Advanced Grant for the IPR (and the University) after that awarded in 2013 to Tanguy Rouxel.

The title of Ian Sims’ project, “CRESUCHIRP – Ultrasensitive Chirped-Pulse Fourier Transform mm-Wave Detection of Transient Species in Uniform Supersonic Flows for Reaction Kinetics Studies under Extreme Conditions” gives little away to the uninitiated. According to Professor Sims “this new grant will enable us to build on our expertise in re-creating extreme conditions similar to those reigning in interstellar space, and combine these with a new technique recently developed in collaboration with two US groups (at MIT and Wayne State University, Detroit), to provide fundamental information on the identity of the products of chemical reactions.”

The new microwave method leverages recent advances in high-speed electronics developed for the telecoms industry, combining them with the super-cold CRESU (Cinétique de Réaction en Ecoulement Supersonique Uniforme or Reaction Kinetics in Uniform Supersonic Flow) environment developed by members of the IPR in a way that drastically enhances the sensitivity of the technique. This will enable its application to a wide range of fundamental problems in chemical physics. For example, the precise identity of the products of even rather simple chemical reactions in the gas phase remains unknown in the majority of cases, and yet this information is vital in modeling gaseous environments such as flames, internal combustion engines, planetary atmospheres, and interstellar clouds which are the birthplace of stars.

 Contact :
Ian SIMS, professeur Dépt Physique Moléculaire, IPR
Lien : https://ipr.univ-rennes1.fr /membre?display_who=42&lang=en

This entry was posted in Actualités, Départements, Grand Public, Physique Moléculaire. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.

Ian SIMS : Obtention d’une ERC / ERC award

IAN SIMS crédits photo IPR 031Ian Sims, professeur de physique à l’Université de Rennes 1 et chercheur dans le Département de Physique Moléculaire de l’Institut de Physique de Rennes (IPR, UMR 6251 CNRS-UR1) a obtenu une bourse Advanced Grant du Conseil Européen de la Recherche (ERC) qui débutera cet automne. Selon le site de l’ERC (https://erc.europa.eu/funding-and-grants/funding-schemes/advanced-grants/french) ces bourses « … permettent à des chercheurs exceptionnels à la réputation établie, quels que soient leur nationalité et leur âge, de mener des projets novateurs à haut risque qui ouvrent de nouvelles voies dans leur discipline de spécialisation ou dans d’autres domaines. Ces subventions sont destinées aux chercheurs qui ont déjà fait leurs preuves en tant qu’éminents chercheurs indépendants. » Ceci est la deuxième Advanced Grant pour l’IPR après celle décernée en 2013 à Tanguy Rouxel.

L’intitulé du projet de recherche de Ian Sims, « CRESUCHIRP – Ultrasensitive Chirped-Pulse Fourier Transform mm-Wave Detection of Transient Species in Uniform Supersonic Flows for Reaction Kinetics Studies under Extreme Conditions » semble peu évocateur pour les néophytes. Selon Ian Sims, « Cette nouvelle bourse nous permettra de tirer parti de notre expertise dans la création de conditions extrêmes semblables à celles régnant dans l’espace interstellaire, et de les combiner avec une nouvelle technique récemment développée en collaboration avec deux groupes américains (au MIT et Wayne State University, Detroit), pour fournir des informations fondamentales sur l’identité des produits de réactions chimiques ».

La nouvelle méthode utilise des micro-ondes et exploite les avancées récentes dans l’électronique ultra-rapide développé pour l’industrie des télécommunications, en les combinant avec l’environnement super-froid du CRESU (Cinétique de Réaction en Écoulement Supersonique Uniforme), mis au point par les membres de l’IPR, pour améliorer considérablement la sensibilité de la technique ; Cela permettra son application à un large éventail de problèmes fondamentaux en physique chimique. Par exemple, l’identité précise des produits de réactions chimiques même assez simples dans la phase gazeuse reste inconnue dans la majorité des cas, et pourtant cette information est vitale dans la modélisation des environnements gazeux tels que les flammes, les moteurs à combustion interne, les atmosphères planétaires et les nuages interstellaires qui sont le berceau des étoiles.

A  VOIR – vidéo Youtube MARS 2017 : https://youtu.be/-fX7hvs3UlM

 A lire :
Interview de Ian SIMS dans le magazine Sciences Ouest de Mai 2016: http://www.espace-sciences.org/sciences-ouest/342/epreuve-par-7/ian-sims

Contact :
Ian SIMS, professeur, Département de Physique Moléculaire, IPR
Lien : https://ipr.univ-rennes1.fr /membre?display_who=42&lang=en

Cette entrée a été publiée dans Actualités, Départements, Grand Public, Physique Moléculaire. Vous pouvez la mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.

Les commentaires sont fermés.