Soft Matter Department

The ‘soft matter’ department has been created in 2011, and was officially launched in January 2012. It results from the gathering of researchers who initially belonged to the « biophysics » and « foams/grains » teams. At that time, some members of these two groups wished to create together a new department at IPR, centered on “soft matter”.

Since its creation in 2012, the composition of the department has been stable, keeping the same group of permanent researchers. In 2015, the department is composed of 8 UR1 researchers (assistant-professors: Axelle AMON, Jérôme LAMBERT, Christophe ODIN, Véronique VIE – professors: Sylvie BEAUFILS, Isabelle CANTAT, Jérôme CRASSOUS, Pascal PANIZZA) and 5 CNRS researchers (CR : Laurent COURBIN, Benjamin DOLLET ; DR : Franck ARTZNER, Anne RENAULT, Arnaud SAINT-JALMES).

As the department activities mainly involve experiments, support by engineers and technicians is crucial. Six of them – Patrick CHASLE, Éric GICQUEL, Cristelle MERIADEC, Gilles PABOEUF, Jean-Charles POTIER, Guillaume RAFFY – interact preferentially with the department; their work corresponds to 3 full-time positions, although their working time is shared with other departments.

Around 9 to 12 PhD students and postdocs were permanently working in the department, which has resulted in 20 PhD students and 8 postdocs since 2010.

The average age of the permanent researchers is about 40 years old. More than half of them arrived at IPR during the previous contract (2005-2010), they were either recruited in Rennes or have chosen to move from other locations. This group of people draws strength from the diversity of their origins, the positive consequences being the natural strong connections with their former labs and various backgrounds and skills brought to IPR. Our goal was then to build on this diversity to investigate problems at the interface with other fields – biology, chemistry, and mechanics – while developing internal interactions and local expertise both on chemical systems, and experimental tools. Consequently, our projects build around five axes, reflecting these different interfaces: ‘biomolecules at interfaces’, ‘multi-scale materials’, ‘microfluidics and interfacial dynamics’, ‘foam dynamics’ and ‘mechanics of disordered media’. This organization also reveals how our projects span from natural systems (proteins, peptides, lipids) to synthetic ones (polymer, surfactant, colloids and grains).

The resulting scientific production is both large and of high quality. It is characterized by about 30-35 peer-reviewed articles per year, with more than 20 articles in high-profile journals (IF > 7) since 2010, corresponding to important scientific breakthroughs in our department. This production is comparable to the one of the major ‘soft matter’ groups in France, and allows us to come up to their standards. In parallel, we attend or are invited to many conferences, which correspond to about 30 orals or posters presentations per year.

Over the years, interactions with non-academic partners have been fruitful; in particular, one of us has created a Lab’Com with Ipsen. Additionally, since the scientific activities of our group begin to be well identified by local and national companies, these kinds of interactions with industrial partners should only develop more during the next contract.

Leader: Isabelle CANTAT group photo department Soft Matter

MMC Seminars

Cours de haut niveau

Group news

HungryFEED can't get feed. Don't be mad at HungryFEED. SimplePie reported: This XML document is invalid, likely due to invalid characters. XML error: Invalid character at line 181, column 31

→ All department news


Research activities in the group are structured in five main research axes:


Biomolecules at fluid interfaces


Multi-scale materials


Microfluidics and interfacial hydrodynamics


Mechanics of disordered materials


Foam dynamics

Comments are closed.

Département Matière Molle

Le département Matière Molle a été créé en 2011, et officiellement lancé en janvier 2012. Il provient du regroupement de chercheurs qui appartenaient aux anciennes équipes Biophysique et Granulaires-Mousses. À cette époque, certains membres de ces deux équipes ont souhaité créer ensemble un nouveau département à l’IPR, centré sur la matière molle.

Depuis sa création en 2012, la composition du département est stable, avec le même groupe de membres permanents. En 2015, le département est constitué de 8 enseignants-chercheurs de l’UR1 (maîtres de conférences : Axelle AMON, Jérôme LAMBERT, Christophe ODIN, Véronique VIE ; professeurs : Sylvie BEAUFILS, Isabelle CANTAT, Jérôme CRASSOUS, Pascal PANIZZA) et 5 chercheurs CNRS (CR : Laurent COURBIN, Benjamin DOLLET ; DR : Franck ARTZNER, Anne RENAULT, Arnaud SAINT-JALMES).

Les activités du département étant essentiellement expérimentales, le support des ingénieurs et des techniciens est crucial. Six d’entre eux – Patrick CHASLE, Éric GICQUEL, Cristelle MERIADEC, Gilles PABOEUF, Jean-Charles POTIER, Guillaume RAFFY – interagissant préférentiellement avec le département ; leur travail correspond à 3 équivalents temps plein, même si leur travail est partagé entre plusieurs départements.

Entre 9 et 12 doctorants et post-doctorants travaillent dans le département, avec au total 20 doctorants et 8 post-doctorants depuis 2010.

L’âge moyen des membres permanents est environ 40 ans. Plus de la moitié d’entre eux est arrivée pendant le précédent contrat (2005-2010), soit par recrutement, soit par mutation. Ce groupe tire sa force de la diversité de ses origines ; les atouts de cette diversité sont les connections naturelles avec leurs laboratoires précédents, ainsi que la variété des profils et des compétences présents dans le département. Notre but a été de tirer parti de cette diversité pour étudier des problèmes aux interfaces avec d’autres disciplines – biologie, chimie, mécanique – tout en développant des interactions en interne, ainsi qu’une expertise sur les systèmes chimiques et les méthodes expérimentales. Nos projets s’articulent selon cinq axes qui reflète cette démarche interdisciplinaire : Biomolécules aux interfaces, Matériaux multi-échelles,, Microfluidique et dynamique interfaciale, Dynamique des mousses et Mécanique des matériaux désordonnés. Cette organisation révèle également comment nos projets couvrent des systèmes aussi bien naturels (protéines, peptides, lipides) que synthétiques (polymères, surfactants, colloïdes et grains).

Notre production scientifique est importante en qualité et en quantité. Nous publions environ 30 à 35 articles par an, avec plus de 20 articles dans les revues à fort facteur d’impact (supérieur à 7) depuis 2010, correspondant à des découvertes scientifiques majeures de notre département. Cette production est comparable aux autres meilleurs groupes de matière molle en France. Nous sommes également présents ou invités dans de nombreuses conférences, ce qui correspond à une trentaine de présentations orales ou par affiche chaque année.

Au fil des années, nous avons développé des interactions fructueuses avec des partenaires non académiques ; en particulier, l’un d’entre nous à créé un Lab’Com avec IPSEN. De plus, de par la reconnaissance croissance de nos activités scientifiques par des entreprises locales et nationales, ces interactions industrielles sont amenées à se développer au cours du prochain contrat.

Responsable : Isabelle CANTAT

Photo de groupe du département

Séminaires hebdomadaires

Cours de haut niveau

Actualités du département

DATE : vendredi 10/02 à 11:00 en salle 120 du 11E Intervenant : Loren Jørgensen, de l’IUSTI, Marseille, Les phénomènes de mouillage et la rhéologie des fluides à seuil sont deux domaines de la physique des matériaux mous dans lesquels … Continuer la lecture
DATE : 3 février 2017 à 11h00 en salle 120 Bât. 11E. Jean-Baptiste SALMON, LOF, UMR 5258 CNRS/Solvay/Université de Bordeaux Nous avons développé une méthode simple pour explorer de manière hors-équilibre le diagramme des phases d’un fluide complexe : l’observation du … Continuer la lecture

→ Toutes les actualités du département


Les activités de recherche du département se structurent en cinq axes principaux:


Biomolecules at fluid interfaces


Multi-scale materials


Microfluidics and interfacial hydrodynamics


Mechanics of disordered materials


Foam dynamics

Les commentaires sont fermés.